Skip to main navigation.

Leadership Award Winners

“Tell me and I forget.  Teach me and I remember.  Involve me and I learn,” Benjamin Franklin.  At Vigilante Electric we have long supported the aspirations of area students wanting to further their education.  We also understand that true learning and growth go beyond the classroom.

Each year the Vigilante Electric Cooperative Leadership Award is given to students who are dependents of members and have distinguished themselves in the classrooms and communities. Applications are judged on four components, academic strength, activities in school and community, employment/volunteerism/community service and a personal statement. 

The first three components are judged equally and gives us the quantifiable accepts about the student.  More weight is given to the personal statement because it is more personal.  The best personal statements that we have received are well thought out, organized and creative.

I have been reviewing scholarship applications for Vigilante Electric for 20 years.  The applications from the past have set the bar pretty high in terms of overall quality.  This year’s applications continued the tradition of incredible academic achievement, hard work and commitment to school and community.  Plus, some of the personal statements received this year were quite remarkable.

For the 2016-17 academic year, the Board of Trustees of Vigilante Electric have decided to award 13, $500 scholarships.  This year’s Leadership Award recipients are:

Jayden Chilson – Beaverhead Co High School

Tessa Sawyer – Beaverhead Co High School

Bailee Doering – Beaverhead Co High School

Augusta Voss – Beaverhead Co High School

RJ Fitzgerald – Beaverhead Co High School

Morgan Nunn – Broadwater High School

Dillon Hahnkamp – Beaverhead Co High School

Connor Ford – Butte Central Attending University of Chicago Loyola

Tristan Huxtable – Beaverhead Co High School

McKenna Jones – Beaverhead Co High School

Katelynn Sutton – Lima High School

Adrianna Pittman – Beaverhead Co High School

Skiela Mager – Twin Bridges High School


We again paired our Leadership Award with the Montana Electric Cooperatives’ Association Memorial Scholarship. This gives students the opportunity to win two scholarships while filling out only one application.  The top application received is forwarded to our statewide association for consideration for one of four Memorial Scholarships.  This year we selected Tessa Sawyer’s application to compete for the MECA Memorial Scholarship.  At the time of this article, winner of the MECA scholarship have not been announced.

On behalf of Vigilante Electric Cooperative, I would like to congratulate this year’s scholarship winners and wish them the best in their future endeavors. 

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo