Skip to main navigation.


Since the early 1990s, Vigilante Electric has supported member youth who embody this statement by offering scholarships to further their education and continue to develop as leaders.  This year’s application for the VEC Leadership Award is a collection of students that have excelled not only in the classroom, but in the communities in which they live.

One of my favorite parts of my job is getting to review the applications for the leadership award rand the youth tour to Washington, D.C. I always marvel at the quality of the applications, the varying aspects of the applicants’ involvement in their schools and community, and the high academic accomplishments achieved.  In terms of the academic accomplishments, the 2022 applications were quite remarkable.

The following are the recipients of the 2022 Vigilante Electric Cooperative Leadership Award:

Treyton Anderson Beaverhead Co High School
Gracie Bravo Lima High School
Evelyn Hansen Beaverhead Co High School
Samuel Konen Twin Bridges High School
Daniel Martin Beaverhead Co High School
Colton Noyes Broadwater High School
Lauryn Petersen Beaverhead Co High School
Miranda Velasco Lima High School
Connor Vezina Beaverhead Co High School
Zoey Wichens Broadwater High School


The unique feature of our leadership award is that we pair it with the Montana Electric Cooperative Association (MECA) Memorial Scholarship.  Students can fill out one application and have the opportunity to win two scholarships.  The top application received is forwarded to MECA for consideration for one of four memorial scholarships.  This year we selected Daniel Martin’s application for consideration for the statewide scholarship.

On behalf of our organization, I would like to congratulate this year’s recipients and wish them well in their future endeavors.

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo